I feel like I’m inside a cage. Not trapped, in fact it’s not even locked, but I’m just too afraid to come out.

What scares me are the things on the outside. “Will I ever make it?”, I wonder. What will my life be like outside of this box of steel. This cage of rules. This small space that’s stagnating my growth.

I know if I remain here, I’ll only adapt and become just like my environment. To me, it’s safe.

It’s safe in that I don’t have to look for security, I have that here. It’s safe in that I don’t have to look for a community I have that here too.

What’s not safe, is that I have all that security and the community but I still feel alone and lost.

I feel out of place in this here space.

Do I need to be anymore uncomfortable to pull the latch open and climb out? Perhaps! But it shouldn’t have to be. I’ve been made uncomfortable enough. Enough for anyone to want to leave. So why am I still here?

Even my mind is not at peace because it’s not where it wants to be. It’s fixated on a place of higher calling. A place where I’m free to grow.

There will be rules there too but I’ll be the one that’ll create them.

So what’s keeping me inside this box, being held hostage by oneself? Everything is telling me to leave but yet I cling on to it; fearful, broken and confused. He didn’t create me for such a place. It’s time to let go!