Composed in Summer/Fall 2014

Just Words

I used to think I was strong but then love happened….At least that’s what I thought.

Running games was a thing for me. I could get anything I wanted without giving ‘it’ up.

I played them before they played me. When things got serious, I carefully backed out.

A million and one excuses was what I was about. That was my perception of being strong but then, ‘Love happened’, or so I thought.

Material things became obsolete when love happened…Yes, love! Or so I thought …

I met a boy, yes a BOY, who changed my world, then love happened, or so I thought.

There was the good, the bad and the ugly but my love remained the same, unwavering and unchanged. Although blinded, I thought I was strong, but love happened, or so I thought.

I wondered …. Is love really manipulation? A flash of instant gratification? To be held down without a promise or no hope.

I was so held down, just to cope, I started to think of being overdosed.

Maybe love is the ‘make up’ after a fight. , The, ” baby, I was wrong, I was drinking that night!” The cuddle to appease you, but only to later on release you.

Perhaps love is being a trophy, taken from a shelf and dust off as needed. Love had me compare myself to that prized possession that’s shown off to others, only to be returned to safekeeping after a few glorious minutes.

I thought I was strong… but then love happened. (Or so I thought )